Loom bands- like the scoubidous craze but BIGGER!

You probably know exactly what I’m talking about. The craze that is the “loom bands’  has been rapidly  sweeping the world recently from school children to celebrities to even the royals,everyone is wearing or making a loom band and I am all for it.

When my little brothers first started bringing home the packets of coloured shaped bands I was puzzled, to me they looked like rubber bands I would wear in my hair when I was little. But when I saw the bracelet they could turn into I was throughly impressed and knew I had to jump on the band wagon as well,and it’s not just me who love them loom bands have been spotted on celebs such and David Beckham and even the duchess of Cambridge Cate Middleton.

They are cheap multi coloured bands that come in a whole host of variety including glitter and metallic versions.Pretty much anything  can  be created from  accessories  to skipping ropes and animals, they are great fun to make and can easily impress. Not to mention they can be  easily found  in most pound stores, toy shops and online on eBay or amazon for roughly £1 for 300 bands including a  crochet needle and several clasps.

Cheap plastic seems to they way to create a global craze, we had silly bands in the summer of 2010 and scoubidous have been around since the 1950s. They inspire our imagination and give us a productive  outlet besides just watching TV in this day and age where arts and crafts is sometimes left to the way side loom bands definitely get my thumb of approval.

Fishtail, inverse helix, infinity are just some of the names that come to mind when looking at different techniques the following are a few I have made in the traditional way. Have some fun and try make one today , they’re a create way of making personalised accessories perfect for your summer look !

check out this awesome youtube tutorial how to make them and get started  : http://youtu.be/uHDZ0-55pbQ

 

 

Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.30 Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.31 #2

Some fun bracelets I’ve made

 

Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.32 Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.33

You can even make rings

 

Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.34 Photo on 03-07-2014 at 18.36

Go patriotic and make on based on a  flag (go USA) or go gothic and make a choker 😀

Leave a Reply

